Copper Leaves

Copper LeavesFor quite some time now, I have been fascinated by the  leaf motif.  When I am on the phone and doodle absentmindedly, I usually doodle leaves or scrolls.

My doodles have turned to thoughts of jewelry made of metal leaves.  It is important to me that the leaves have some veining and dimension.  These are my practice leaves I’ve used to determine the best way to texture and shape them so they are not just lifeless and flat.

When I am working out a piece or technique, I work in copper.  It is so much less expensive than silver, giving me the freedom to make mistakes – so necessary while learning.  Once I have the technical aspects worked out, I then transition to silver and make finished jewelry.  It will be interesting to see where my original doodles take me.

This entry was posted in metalwork, The Working Artist and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Copper Leaves

  1. laurinfamous says:

    Ohhh these are darling!! I hope you end up using them in something.

  2. laurinfamous – you are right, they do deserve to be used. I appreciate the comment and another point of view.

  3. These leaves are great looking! Are you going to leave them shiny or patina them?

  4. Cindy,

    I think I will patina them. I love the look of copper that has been patinaed. I do so with my torch and then use a lacquer to protect the finish.

  5. local_god says:

    How you find ideas for articles, I am always lack of new ideas for articles. Some tips would be great

  6. thebeaddreamer says:

    I get ideas from my interest – the main one being making jewelry and from things that are going on in my life. If you already have a blog, one idea is to ask your readers if there is something they would like to read about.

  7. That would be a great idea for steampunk jewelry/paraphernalia. I can definitely see making brass/bronze leaves, applying patina, and making a wire tree or other sculpture with them. What a great idea, I’ll have to try that!

Leave a Reply

