Haiti

Haiti Sails 1

Like everyone, I am shocked and saddened by the news of the earthquake in Haiti.  I was fortunate enough to visit Haiti this summer and these are pictures from that trip.  I visited Labadee and did not have the opportunity to see Port-au-Prince or other areas.

The first thing that struck me about Haiti was the sheer beauty of the place.  These photos were taken from a tour boat that took us along some of the coastline.  I was stunned by the beauty of gorgeous blue seas that very quickly rose up to wildly, ruggedly beautiful mountains.

Haiti Sails 2

I was also amazed by all the fishing boats out on the water with people going about their work for the day.  They were modest vessels and the sails looked like patchwork quilts made from pieces of whatever fabric people could get.  There was also beauty and quiet strength in those sails and I and respect the resourcefulness of people anywhere in using what they have.  t was interesting, when I returned and would tell people how beautiful I thought Haiti was, I would get a little reaction.  Someone even said, you never hear anything like that about Haiti.  I was glad I could tell them.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been envisioning a line of jewelry that I hope can come close to capturing what I felt when I visited Haiti.  I plan to accelerate development of the line and hope to find a way to use it to help.  There is always the approach of donating a percentage from the sale of jewelry from the line.  Truthfully, I’d like to do that and find a way to do more.  After going there once, I said I wanted to return.  Maybe there will be a way.

Below – that’s me looking at a water taxi.

Haiti Water Taxi

This entry was posted in life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

