Enamel Pendant No. 1

This post has been a long time coming. In January I decided to challenge myself to make 24 enamel pendants in 2011. I had no idea it would take me until May to get the first one done. I’m glad it’s not just done, but made up into an actual piece. I am reserving the right to show some pendants that are not made into finished pieces.

So what happened? Technical difficulties. Life. Stuff. More stuff.

But here I am with one enamel pendant done and I’m so proud of it. I made the enamel oval at Art and Soul and created a brass tab setting for it. I also learned the wire working techniques to make the bronze and copper pod at Art and Soul and love bringing the two techniques together in one piece. The pod holds beads in similar colors as the ones in the necklace.

I’m hoping I can get back on track and will have enamel pendant no. 2 to show you shortly. Believe me, I have serious respect for people who make a ring or anything a day! I’m also thankful I didn’t challenge myself to make an enamel pendant a week. Here’s hoping I’m not scrambling and burning the house down on New Years Eve.

This entry was posted in Handcrafted Necklace, metalwork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Enamel Pendant No. 1

  1. Lisa Faeth says:

    Heehee thanks for the heads up, Ummmmm stay away from your house on New Years EVE!!!!
    I love the necklace…it turned out beautiful…looks like sunshine!
    Take care!

    • thebeaddreamer says:

      Thank you Lisa. Let’s hope I keep going with enamel pendants and am raising a glass of champagne come New Year Eve.

  2. Did you see the Calder jewelry book while you were at Kate’s house? I think you’d really like it. He was really a master wire-worker and created with quite a lot of techniques that are really hot right now. I definitely recommend checking it out!

    Also, your pendant looks great! Here’s to not burning the house down!

    • thebeaddreamer says:

      Andrew,

      I did not see the Calder book but am familiar with his work. I’m intrigued and want the book…

Leave a Reply

