Mini Book Necklace

I love miniatures, always have, and when I saw these mini book covers from Beadaholique, I had to try working with them. I measured the little metal book covers and tore paper the same size. I wanted torn edges rather than cut ones thinking it added to the sweetness. I lined up the covers with the pages and punched tiny holes. Jump rings were perfect to bind the covers and pages together. And really, the pages could be anything – snippets of photographs, ribbon, fabric, you name it. I chose a velvety white paper.

Part of the beauty of these little covers is the fact that they can be embellished so many different ways. I used a couple of tiny bits of ribbon. (Yes saving those small pieces does pay off!) I added a little coin charm, a trio of beads, and hung it on a beautiful chain that matched the color of the book covers.

Here are my tiny pages ready for deep but brief thoughts.

This entry was posted in Handcrafted Necklace and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mini Book Necklace

  1. Denise says:

    Awesome Cahrlene! You have such wonderfully creative ideas. I worked for book/document restoration company for almost 5 years. Reminds me of my fond memories.
    PS. Pkg. on the way…

    • thebeaddreamer says:

      Hi Denise,

      It’s always nice to hear from you. I hope things are going well and the weather is beautiful. I’d live to make it up your way some day!

  2. Therese says:

    How neat! I love the little journal Charlene.
    Therese

  3. Tamara says:

    this is so pretty, I love the little book…and how you embellished the front

  4. Diana B says:

    Just charming!

  5. Jennifer says:

    I love this book necklace. I discovered your blog when I was looking at the bead soup party blogs. I was to busy/intimidated/you name it…to sign up to participate this time, but maybe next.

    I hope you don’t mind, but I think this necklace has given me an ideal way for me to combine my 2 art forms, calligraphy is my first, but I dabble in making jewelry too. I hope you don’t mind if I swipe and alter some of the idea.

    Also, big congrats on the front page of etsy. I have 2 shops there too, and I’m happy when I get 20-30 views, but that’s because I’ve promoted something on my FB page, otherwise, I’m lucky to get maybe 5 views a day. It’s been frustrating, but I have gotten some calligraphy work from etsy, but haven’t sold any jewelry yet. Feel free to critique me and suggest anything that might help.

    paintjar.etsy.com
    paintjarjewelry.etsy.com

    • thebeaddreamer says:

      Jennifer,

      I sent a more detailed response via email. If something I’ve done causes an idea to form for you, go for it! I’d love to see what you create.

  6. I love your design! The way you decorated/embellished the mini-book is fabulous – very creative, fun and beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

