Makeover – Bead Dreamer Style

Green Drop NecklaceI try very hard to create beautiful, unusual, artisan jewelry that meets a certain level of quality in design.  Most of the time I succeed.  Once in a while, I put something together, look at it later, and have the “what were you thinking” moment.

That happened with the first piece I made using the dark green drop at the bottom of this necklace.  I think my mistake was trying to use the drop as a focal point by itself .  It did not have the presence that it now has used in conjunction with the coin and wrapped wire.  So, I cut the – shall we say – less than successful piece apart, let the green drop hang out for a while, got this idea, and tried again.  The result is so much better.  As we move into 2009, is there anything you would like to make over?

This entry was posted in jewelry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Makeover – Bead Dreamer Style

  1. Chris says:

    I was sitting here on new years day thinking about the things I want to ‘make over’ when I read this post. We always think of new years as a time for making resolutions and starting over. I like the Bead Dreamer approach better – if something doesn’t look right cut it up and try again. No need to wait for an arbitrary day in January.

    I’m really loving the photos. Top notch.

Leave a Reply

