I Have Come a Long Way

when it comes to jewelry photography.  The funny thing is, back when I was taking bad photos, I didn’t even know they were bad.  I took them to have historical documentation of my work.  I’m glad I have them especially because I can see growth through the years.  But, back to the pictures…

Here is a bracelet I re-photographed.  I am very happy with the result.  I think the bracelet comes to life and think the rich colors of the bracelet and background complement each other nicely.

Liza Bracelet

This is a really bad photos of the same bracelet.  I didn’t have the lighting right.  I didn’t know how to get a sense of dimension.  I don’t know what I was thinking with the crumpled paper bag thing.  I have worked a lot of things out since then.

Red Bracelet Bad Photo

Photography is not my field of study and I have huge respect for those who do it well.  I didn’t pay much attention before, but now, when I flip through magazines and catalogs, I think about the photographers, stylists, editors, and other people it takes to get great looking product shots.  They do it so well and make it look effortless.

This entry was posted in Jewelry Business and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Have Come a Long Way

  1. Menka says:

    Hi BeadDreamer,

    I recently started following your blog and must say you are very good at describing your beautiful jewelry. I am really inspired and motivated to evolve my blog now 🙂

    It will be great if you could share a tip or two which helped you migrate from your first picture to the current one. Your experience will defintely help newbies like me.

  2. Leonie says:

    I commented on the wrong post – I love THIS bracelet:)

Leave a Reply

