Variations on a Theme

Chiclets

Over the past few months, I’ve been exploring beaded earring components created using square stitch (my favorite bead weaving stitch, at least for now).  I’ve posted about a pair of purple teardrop earrings and the gorgeous Adriana earrings.  The ideas kept flowing and I kept making little beaded squares.

I ended up using some in this trio of earrings.  They are all in the blue/green/gold color family yet each is different in each own way.  For some reason, the little squares reminded me of Chiclets, little pieces of gum I chewed as a child.  I remember they had a small pack of mini Chiclets – tiny squares of gum in different colors.  These earrings look nothing like them, but that’s what they brought to mind.  Funny the things you remember and what triggers the memory.

I have in my sketch book ideas to use the squares in necklaces.  We will see…

This entry was posted in beadwork, jewelry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Variations on a Theme

  1. R e a f u says:

    Not sure what it is, possibly the beadwork but these earrings have a naitive american feel to them and looking through this blog, you have some absolutely gorgeous jewellry designs!

  2. i want you to teach me how to do bead weaving e.g bags flower vessel etc thanks.

  3. please you can teach me through my email address i just want to know how or step by step to weave a bag and also flower vessel.thanks

  4. R e a f u says:

    Thank you! I’ll definitely look through all those links you’ve provided!

Leave a Reply

