Loving Long Earwires

Long EarwiresI use commercial earwires for many of my earrings but find that I am moving towards using handmade earwires more and more.  I especially love the long ones like those shown here.  They are relatively simple to make and add a beautiful touch to even the simplest earring design.  I made these by cutting lengths of sterling silver wire, using my torch to create a ball on the ends, forming the earwire shape with pliers, and then filing the end that is inserted into the ear so it is smooth.  I love the long, clean look and keep a little batch of them in the storage box with the commercial earwires.  Who knows, someday the handmade ones may take over…

This entry was posted in jewelry, wirework and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Loving Long Earwires

  1. I love the long handmade ear wires too! They give earrings such an artisan look as compared to the standard commercial variety.

Leave a Reply

