A Story of Left-handedness and Jewelry

Glenda Necklace

I’m a lefty, and we lefties know we live in a right-handed world.  Growing up, at least at home, that was not the case.  In addition to me, my mother and three of my siblings were left-handed.  Only my father and oldest sister were right-handed.  So, our household leaned a little towards favoring left-handedness in how things were set up.

When it comes to jewelry, I try to keep my left-handedness in mind.  When making a necklace like this green garnet and pearl necklace, it is a factor.  If a necklace has a distinct front and back, then it matters which side I put the clasp on when making it.  Unless I am making a piece for myself (or someone who I know is left-handed), I make it for right-handed people.

Recently, at a jewelry show, a lady wanted to try on one of my necklaces.  She had her hands behind her neck, trying to get it on and said – this is awkward, I can’t work the clasp.  I then realized – oops – I let a left-handed necklace get through.  It doesn’t happen often and I modified the necklace.

The very first bead weaving stitch I learned was brick stitch and left-handedness was a factor.  I tried to learn it by reading an article in a book or magazine.  I remember seeing paragraph after paragraph that talked about doing this with your right hand and that with your left hand – pages of it.  I tried more than once to get through it, and gave up in frustration.  A while later I found a class in the technique and was able to easily learn from the instructor who was right-handed.  Since then, I’ve become better at translating written instructions mentally and don’t have a problem with them.  Thank goodness, since there’s always something new I want to learn.

Bookmark and Share

This entry was posted in jewelry, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Story of Left-handedness and Jewelry

  1. This is amazingly interesting information. I’m a righty and I live with a lefty. Until I married him, I had no idea of how they have to adapt to things that I take for granted. It never occurred to me that there were clasps for left-handed people. Every time I’ve tried on a necklace, the clasp is perfect for me, a righty. Next time I purchase jewelry for someone, I’ll be sure to keep this in mind. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

