Found Object in Blue

Paulina Necklace

In my city, there is a little bit of waterfront that yields wonderful treasures.  It’s not really a beach.  It’s more like an area with rocks and tall grasses near some warehouses and office buildings.  Over the years, I’ve managed to collect a few objects that I knew would be beautiful as jewelry.  For a long time, I did not have the skills to do anything with the pieces.  They sat in a box and I would run my hands through them every so often – things worn by the sea can have such a nice feel.

The blue ceramic piece in this necklace was found at this waterfront area.  I loved the color.  I loved the v-shape that is now at the bottom.  I loved that part of it was broken and then smoothed by the water.  Maybe it was a hexagon?  Doesn’t matter – I think I like it better this way.  I set it in sterling silver with four shorter prongs and one really long prong that curves around nestling in the crevices.  I elaborated on the color blue by adding a lapis stone at the top.  Most of the time, I make beaded necklaces for my creations.  This pendant said no – it wanted the simplicity of a chain only.  I said OK.

Bookmark and Share

This entry was posted in jewelry, metalwork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Found Object in Blue

  1. chris says:

    I walk slow. Not because of any physical reason, I think it’s just because I am busy observing. I seldom even glance at the many manicured lawns, but can stare in wonder at some weed trying to grow in some worn out parking lot. It makes me feel better about the world when I see artists like the Bead Dreamer stopping to find beauty in the mundane.

  2. Lisa Liguori says:

    I like that you kept these special pieces until you were ready to give them a new life. That gives me hope for a few treasures I keep around. I think this small story of how a found object can become new again will stay with me for a long while as inspiration. Thank you.

  3. Lisa,

    Sometimes we have to wait for the timing and other things to be right. I am glad I waited with these pieces, I could not have done them justice before. I would love to see what you do with your treasures. They will let you know when it’s time.

  4. Joyce says:

    I love working with found objects, they often carry more sentimental meaning, your piece truly enhances the shape and color of the ceramic piece, it looks like it is being cradled and cherished, beautiful and elegant.

Leave a Reply

