Living Jewelry

An interesting type of jewelry I have noticed this year is living jewelry – jewelry made from actual living plants.  One beautiful example is Paula Hayes’ living necklace.  Paula does beautiful landscaping and garden designs and shows her love of plants in this very graceful necklace.  It has a quiet simplicity and the plants look like they belong there, they are intertwined so nicely with the rest of the necklace.

Paula Hayes Necklace

Photo courtesy of Design Glut

Another example of living jewelry are these rings from Sarah Hood.  I don’t know how wearable the larger ones are, but think they are just charming.  I’d love to wear one of the rings where the plant cascades out of its pot.  It would be like carrying my own special world with me.  When they are not being worn, they each have their own little stand which turns them into little sculptures.  So enchanting.

Photo Courtesy of Sarah Hood

Photo Courtesy of Sarah Hood

I’m not sure how well the plants thrive but can totally understand people wanting to connect with the natural world and with plants in particular.  I also think this jewelry is well designed and love the idea of jewelry artists stepping a bit outside of the conventional jewelry world.

The views expressed in this blog are my own.  I received no compensation or jewelry from Paula Hayes, Design Glut, or Sarah Hood.

Bookmark and Share

This entry was posted in Fashion and Trends, jewelry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Living Jewelry

  1. Lina says:

    Love all you jewlery. I found your blog when I was looking around online. Great job!

  2. Lina,

    Thank you so much.

  3. Josh says:

    I love this stuff. Hope to see more from you soon.

Leave a Reply

