Twigs and Leaves in Silver and Glass

Solange NecklaceI’m still working hard on setting things – gemstone, glass, shell, rocks, you name it.  And, I’m branching out with the settings.  This necklace is one of my newer designs and I just loved putting it together.  I started with the white glass cabochon and wanted to accent the designs in it – they brought to mind twigs and leaves.  So, I cut tiny twigs and leaves out of silver, soldered then onto a silver base, and then soldered on the bezel ring that is holding the glass.  I further embellished the setting with a leaf stamp and random markings also meant to repeat the design reflecting twigs and leaves.

I tend to make beaded necklaces for most of my pendants but this one wanted just a few beads and mostly chain.  I used three dark fresh water pearls on one side and a faceted rhodonite bead and dark ruby crystal on the other and completed the necklace with darkened silver chain.  I even darkened the clasp and added one pearl and one crystal right at the clasp.  Learning to do more with metal has been a gratifying journey for me and I have so much yet to learn.  I care so much about each piece I make and am very involved with each while I am making it – carefully considering each element and its placement, editing and refining as needed.

Bookmark and Share

This entry was posted in jewelry, metalwork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Twigs and Leaves in Silver and Glass

  1. Pingback: Loose Leaf Green Tea | Loose Leaf Green Tea

  2. The glass cabochon is beautiful, with the silver framing is just eloquent.

  3. girlconservative says:

    Just an exquisite necklace!

  4. Jackson Hill says:

    Diamonds and Rubys are my favorite gemstones, i like the color red and the sparkle of diamond.;::

Leave a Reply

