Garnets in January

Garnet Bracelet

My birthday is in January and garnet is my birthstone.  I think garnets are beautiful gemstones and enjoy working with them.  They are gorgeous as the main element in a piece of jewelry, they also can add warmth and contrast to a piece made primarily of other colors without bringing in too much red.  I remember growing up not liking that garnet was my birthstone.  I wanted March (aquamarine), June (pearl), or July (ruby).  I also wanted my name to be Lisa or Cindy.  I eventually grew into garnet and Charlene and would not change either.  Funny how sometimes what we think we want isn’t at all what is right for us.

And so, I love garnet.  I got the centerpiece for this two-strand bracelet at a bead show in Maryland.  I thought it was unique and I don’t think I’ve seen anything like it since then.  It took me a while to figure out how to use it.  I envisioned it as a pendant but once I opened my mind to another possibly, I quickly saw that it worked so much better as the focal point of a bracelet.  I used garnets in two shapes – faceted teardrops and faceted round beads.  I added garnet toned glass pearls and little red spacer beads.  Keeping an open mind and seeing possibilities, always good things.

Bookmark and Share

This entry was posted in handcrafted bracelet, Jewelry Design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

