Flow

Flow

This is a photo of my work table yesterday.  I was having one of those days when ideas were just flowing – multiple ideas for multiple pieces of jewelry, all in a rush and tumble, almost all at once.  Some are captured as sketches, others have enough beads pulled together to give me the main idea of the piece.  Do I have way too much going on?  Probably.  Should I reign it in and work on one piece at a time?  Yes.  And I will.

But when the ideas are flowing like this I let them flow, even if it means temporary chaos.  I do what I can to capture each idea and then begin to focus on the actual development of each piece, evaluating each idea for soundness as I go along.  I’m excited, I did get some soldering done yesterday.  I need to get on my jeweler’s bench and get some sawing, drilling, and filing done today.  I can’t wait to see the ideas become reality.

This entry was posted in The Working Artist and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flow

  1. catefneely says:

    How fun to find your blog! I am looking forward to looking through it. As for a day where the ideas flow, I think that’s the way it happens! You just have to go with it.

  2. chris says:

    I recently read ‘Flow and the psychology of optimal experience’ by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi. He describes flow as that state when you are working near the limits of your ability at something you find meaningful. It is when you are so engaged that time disappears and you forget to eat. It can occur while beading, running, or even fixing the roof. When you really think about it, the flow state is what we all seek. Keep on flowin Bead Dreamer.

Leave a Reply

