My Big, Huge, Giant, Tall List

Big Huge List

As an artisan, it’s important to me to continue to grow and develop my skills.  And so I work at it and play at it.  When I returned from Penland School of Craft this past summer, I knew I wanted to expand the type of jewelry I was making to fully capitalize on what I learned in the class.

In the car on the way back from Penland, I started making a list of those things that if I did them would further cement and expand upon what I learned in the class.  When I got home, I typed it up, posted it in a prominent place, and here it is.

Everything on the list is definite and concrete – something that is either done or not done.  There is nothing like – improve sawing skills – which you can never really finish because you can always improve.  Instead I have something like – cut out the details from one coin.

The bright pink marks are things I’ve completed.  Here and there I get pulled by other things a realize I haven’t looked at the list in a while.  When I realize it, I go back to the list and check it.  Sometimes I see that I’ve completed an item or two while doing other things.  Other times, I pick an item and get going.

What I especially like are those things that started out on the list but have now become ingrained in my arsenal of techniques.

Here are some of the things that I still need to do:

  • Make four folded, cut, and hammered leaves
  • Make two pieces with hinges
  • Select a historical piece of jewelry and create a design inspired by it using fragmentation and abstraction

I will get there.  I will.

This entry was posted in life, metalwork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Big, Huge, Giant, Tall List

  1. Mikki says:

    I may have to steal this idea. In January I was doing really well….so organized, and then I started making PC beads and everything went to pot. I need to reorganize myself including clay playtime and a list like that would help a lot. Thanks.

  2. Hi Mikki,

    Steal away, I hope it helps. I know I struggle at times with the delicate balance between needing to play, create, and learn vs needing to get inventory to stores, deal with paperwork, etc.

  3. Keep posting stuff like this i really like it

  4. I Really like what you have done with your blog! Will you please check out my site? It is new and i would like to show it off! The site is http://www.publicdomainpayday.com

  5. gucci shoes says:

    I enjoy your site and I have bookmarked it, Kind Regards

    Bernice Johanson

    Gucci Shoes
    Gucci Sandals

Leave a Reply

