Jewelry a la Bead Soup

What a pleasure it has been to work with the beads Julie Pryce of Pryce Designs sent me – she made each and every one of them.  It’s also been a pleasure to participate in the Bead Soup experience overall.  Lori Anderson of Pretty Things Blog has been the organizer and she’s done a fabulous job.  It’s been a lot of fun to see what other jewelry designers have done with the beads they received, some of which may be colors or materials they would not have chosen themselves.  You know how we can have our tendencies and preferences.  But wow – such gorgeous work.  There’s a Flickr group if you’d like to see more.

So, here’s what I made with the beads from Julie.

My initial design decision was how to orient the main focal bead – horizontally or vertically.  Once the idea came to me to do a tassel necklace, vertical was it.  I attached a hand-formed and hammered sterling silver ring directly beneath the main focal bead and then created a tassel made of darkened sterling silver chain and tiny beads in colors complementary to those in the beads from Julie.  I then interspersed four additional beads from Julie with crystal in dark blue and turquoise along with lime jade.

Because the front of the necklace had such a strong design, I felt that keeping the back of the necklace simple was the way to go.  Of course, I wanted to do earrings.  I made these with little accent beads Julie created.  I think the handmade loops, earwires, and headpin all serve to being out the luminosity of Julie’s bead.  This was a fun experience and I’m glad I participated.

This entry was posted in Events, Handcrafted Earrings, Handcrafted Necklace, jewelry, metalwork and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Jewelry a la Bead Soup

  1. Moondancer says:

    Those beads are gorgeous, they make me think of summer. I’m loving the necklace and the earrings. 🙂
    I really love your handmade loops and earwires too.

  2. Very simple and graceful. I love the color ways. I think you cooked your soup perfectly!

  3. Love it – really dig the earrings – could wear it with so many things!

  4. Megan C. says:

    Beautiful! I love the tassel on the necklace.

  5. Stefanie says:

    Love the idea with the tassel – very clever. It looks funky but at the same time elegant.

  6. Kella says:

    I love the whole look the colours and the assembly of all the comnents.

  7. Such a pretty palette! Thanks for sharing your soup!
    Enjoy the day!
    Erin

  8. I absolutely LOVE those beads! And you’re right — they look best all up front — the better to enjoy them! The tassel design is gorgeous, and you did a great job with the earrings, too.

    Wonderful work!

  9. Your Bead Soup creations are divine! I am partial to tassels myself and love what you did with the focal bead.

  10. KJ says:

    I love the turquoise and yellow of the glass beads. Their brightness is balanced so nicely with the hammered silver rings in the necklace and earrings. Great job – one of my favorites of the whole party so far!

  11. Lovely design and colors. Chunky up front and light in the back – very cool. The earrings are also fab. Great job! Reminds of Summer……

  12. Nicki says:

    I like your creation. The large danglies are really nice. Yummy soup.

  13. Amazing soup! I love what you have done here and those colours, they just pop. Beautiful!

  14. Great colors!! I love the way you made the pendant, beautiful work.

  15. Michelle says:

    I love the simplicity of the earrings with the boldness of the necklace!

  16. Loretta says:

    Beautiful necklace and earrings. Love your handmade earring.

  17. Melissa says:

    Love your design!

  18. Regina says:

    Lovely colors, reminds me of sunshine and blue skies. Love what you did with the focal and the ring beneath and the earrings, adorable! All very beautiful!

  19. Christine B says:

    That is one beautiful, summery necklace! I love the design so much!

  20. ViviBijoux says:

    How lucky to have got such pretty lampwork beads. I know pryce designs, fab beads indeed! You did brillantly ^_^ smiles,Virginie

  21. Great summer color. I love how you’ve worked the rings into your designs! Very light and airy. Enjoy:)

  22. Beautiful! Both necklace and earings. And beads are gorgeous!

  23. Wanda says:

    Wow, what lovely pieces! They are just AWESOME!

    Thanks too for stopping by my blog. I now have the red one finished if you care to check back.

  24. Roni says:

    Gorgeous beads! That necklace is amazing

  25. Marieke says:

    Lovely delicate designs… love them both

  26. Jo Tinley says:

    Beautiful colours! I love the tassel at the bottom of the necklace – it finishes the piece off wonderfully.

  27. Janeen says:

    That necklace is gorgeous! I just love the colors. It’s a great design and so wearable. You blog is so pretty and simple too. I really like it.

  28. Anna Lear says:

    Beautiful pieces! I love the colors, and you balanced the necklace elements very nicely. You do fabulous metalwork… it just pulls everything together so well.

  29. Michelle says:

    Love the fringe of beads…it really elongates the look of the necklace. Love the lime & aqua together.
    Bead Happy!
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

