The Accidental Bracelet

This happens from time to time.  I set out to make a bracelet using one of the blue chalcedony chunks in the photo below.  I wanted to do a design that was big and chunky with colors that did not overwhelm the focal bead.  And while I was working on it and moving things around, two other beads rolled into each other and I thought  – those look good together.  And I don’t think I would have ever selected the two beads to go together without their chance encounter on my work table.

They were the larger cobalt blue beads with the swirls and the smaller amber beads with glass dots.  And I like them together  – a lot.  It’s that mixed patterns thing that can either be lovely or a train wreck and this time, I think it works.  I love it when a piece of jewelry comes out of the blue like that.  Not all do.  Some are true labors of love.  Which makes the accidental bracelet a nice surprise indeed.

This entry was posted in jewelry, Jewelry Design and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

