Rough Cut Gemstones

Most jewelry designers like myself love coming across an unusual find.  One of those finds, at least for me, is rough cut semi-precious gemstones – meaning gemstones that have been cut into rough shapes with no polishing to smooth the surfaces.  I don’t see them very often, so when I do, I’m usually intrigued and a strand or two always manage to make it into my bead stash.

The rough cut agate gemstones in the bracelet shown above are an example.  I love the combination of their rough edges with smooth pearl and crystal beads.  I remember the first time I saw an uncut diamond used in a piece of jewelry.  It was an article in Ornament Magazine about jeweler Todd Reed.  The pieces were devastatingly gorgeous and I jut loved his vision of using diamonds in a rough uncut state.

I also managed to find a strand of rough cut blue lace agate and again enjoyed using the stones as a way to bring contrasts in textures in a piece of jewelry.  I love seeing beauty in stones that have had fewer finishing touches by human hands and show more of their rugged, natural state.

This entry was posted in beads, Jewelry Design and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rough Cut Gemstones

  1. Claire K says:

    I love the unpolished look. With a rough cut stone, each one is an original. I wonder if there are any types of stones that you think tend to work better this way?

Leave a Reply

