Natural Copper

I work with many natural materials, but most of the time they are not in their natural state.  They’ve been formed into beads, holes have been drilled into them, or they’ve been made into metal sheet or wire.  So, it was a nice surprise when my boyfriend brought me this piece of natural copper from a recent trip to Colorado.

I have to say, I don’t think I’ve ever seen copper in its natural state like this and find it to be beautiful.  I don’t know if the green coloration is patination or some other substance that has attached itself to the copper.  It doesn’t matter – I like it all.  I do plan to use it in a piece of jewelry and will post it when I do.  Right now, I am thinking to use it with something soft like leather perhaps.  We’ll see.

The other two pictures show some of the jewelry I’ve made using copper.  I love it as a materials to work with.  IThe fact that it’s more affordable than silver or gold – a bonus.

This entry was posted in metalwork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Natural Copper

  1. Lisa Kasper says:

    That is a gorgeous piece, I love the colors and can’t wait to see what you do with it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

