Pink and Beads

Really pretty pink gemstone beads can sometimes be hard to come by.  A lot of the rose quartz beads I see anymore, truthfully, are barely pink.  One gemstone that I have seen in really deep pretty pinks is rhodochrosite.  It’s the gemstone used at the center of this necklace.

The name rhodochrosite means “rose colored” and from what I’ve read, the Sweet Home Mine in Colorado is an excellent source.  In fact, rhodochrosite is now the official state mineral of Colorado.  Legend and folklore has it that rhodochrosite can draw love to the wearer, help release past psychological issues, and relieve stress.

I don’t know if those claims are true or not.  I just know that it’s beautiful and a strand of it is on my wish list!

This entry was posted in beads, Handcrafted Necklace, metalwork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pink and Beads

  1. Claire K says:

    Rhodochrosite sounds like some good stuff. I think I’ll put it on my wish list as well. Is that a handmade chain? Nice piece.

    • thebeaddreamer says:

      Hi Claire,

      What a pretty name. Hopefully we’ll both be getting some to work with – it is a nice gemstone. I do like to make chain, but did not make this particular one. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

