When I knew better…

I did better.  I think it was Maya Angelou who said something like that.  And it’s true.

When I first started making jewelry, I learned how to work with beads first.  I could make earrings using headpins and eye pins.  And that was it.  I wanted to expand into some other types of earrings, but at the time did not have the technical skills to do so.  So, I bought some commercial findings and glued gemstone cabochons into them.

Here are some of them in their store-bought settings.  Pretty sad.

Notice that there is only one of the mother of pearl cabochons.  That’s because I liberated the other one and it is so much happier in the custom setting I created for it.  I loved setting it as the moon and then cutting out tiny stars to surround it.

The other ones are now demanding their freedom.  Gotta get back to work.

This entry was posted in Handcrafted Necklace, Jewelry Design, metalwork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

