Silver Prices

Silver prices are through the roof.  What’s an independent jewelry designer to do?  I can’t control it.  I’m no expert at markets and have no way to predict if I’m better off buying a bunch of silver now or just waiting.

I love working with silver but I also care about affordability when it comes to my customers.  I think about it when I design and try where I can to mindful of the ultimate cost of a piece of jewelry to the customer.  Sure, once in a while I make something expensive either for the shear joy of making it or because a particular design is what is needed to honor a component or idea.  But I also know that there are a whole lot of ways to achieve an end, and I try to think about the cost to the customer when making decisions about a piece.

So what’s a jewelry designer to do?  Stop using silver?  Raise prices?  What?  My answer today (and it may change as time moves on) is to buy some more silver and also examine what I am doing and look for ways to reduce it’s use.  Good thing I like found objects, copper, and tin.

The photo – my silver scrap jar.  At some point it will be sold, reworked into silver sheet, and make its way out into the world to become part of more beautiful things.  At least, that’s my hope.

This entry was posted in life, metalwork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

