The Business Side

I don’t know what it is, but it seems like lately the business side of my jewelry business is taking more time than in the past.  And maybe it’s a good thing.  After all, any business needs tending to and while I would love to spend all of my waking hours making jewelry, I can’t.  Because unless I’m going to stockpile it, I need to get it sold.  And truthfully, I want the pieces to be worn by women who love them and who feel beautifully accessorized when they put a special piece on.

So, what’s all this business stuff?  Handling email and social networks – Twitter, Flickr, FaceBook to name a few.  Packing and shipping orders.  Dealing with books and record-keeping.  Taking inventory and ordering supplies.  Dealing with totally unglamorous but necessary stuff like sales tax and insurance.  All of these things and more are necessary to keep my business alive and growing.

I am ready to get back to jewelry however.

This entry was posted in jewelry, Jewelry Business and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Business Side

  1. Charli says:

    Love your jewelry! Hope you can get some system in place to take care of the business side soon and getting back to your passionate side of it. 🙂

  2. Linda Landig says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I really enjoyed visiting yours. The earrings in this post are gorgeous. I know what you mean about the business side eating up huge hunks of your time. Its hard to find the right balance.

    • thebeaddreamer says:

      Linda,

      You are very welcome. I enjoyed your blog, you do a very nice job. It can be hard to find the right balance, but it’s something we all have to do. Thanks for the compliment on the earrings.

Leave a Reply

