Jewelry Tools: Bent Nose Pliers

I can remember looking at a pair of bent nose jewelry pliers and wondering what in the world do you use them for.  I started making jewelry with three hand tools – a pair of needle nose pliers, chain nose pliers, and cutters.  And they served me well for many years.  But as I began to work with wire more, I started to realize that some additional tools could help me.

And one of those tools was the bent nose plier.  So, how do I use them?  Here’s how.  I’m not saying that this is the best way or only way, just that this is what I have found them extremely helpful for.

The first area where they are helpful is holding beads and other dangles out of the way when completing a wrapped loop.  I’m holding the bent nose pliers in my left hand (I’m a south paw).  I would then hold the chain nose pliers in my right hand to do the wrapping.  Instead, I’m holding the camera, but you get the idea.

The other time I use them is when I’m tucking in that last teeny-weeny bit of wire after making a wrapped loop and trimming the end.

So, that’s how I use bent nose pliers.  If you make jewelry, I’d love to hear how you use them.

http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fthebeaddreamer.com%2Fblog%2F2010%2F12%2F20%2Fjewelry-tools-bent-nose-pliers%2F&layout=standard&show_faces=true&width=250&action=like&colorscheme=light&height=80

This entry was posted in jewelry, Jewelry Tools, wirework and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jewelry Tools: Bent Nose Pliers

  1. jewelstore says:

    thanks for posting, it help me and gave me tips on how to use this pliers. great post.

Leave a Reply

