Paper Mockette

When I studied at Penland under Bob Ebendorf, part of the focus of the class was on cold joins and tab settings.  I remember the first tab setting I attempted was a disaster.  The piece I was setting fell right through.  I tried a different type of tab setting, it worked, and it’s been very useful.  The settings that worked were those where a solid piece of metal was underneath the item to be set and the tabs extended outward – just like paper doll tabs.

Those work great, but those outward tabs can consume a lot of metal especially if you are setting something thick that requires long tabs. And I always wanted to try tabs that were cut inward, which means that some of the back of the piece shows.  This can be very useful for setting something faceted on the back without actually knowing how to really set something faceted.  I haven’t advanced that far, but it’s on the list.

So, I went to try it again and I remembered Bob’s advice – make it in paper first.  He called them paper mockettes.  And that’s what you see here.  And you know what?  I know the setting will fit the found pottery shard even with its thickness and curvature.  Nothing is falling through this time.


http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fthebeaddreamer.com%2Fblog%2F2011%2F01%2F12%2Fpaper-mockette%2F&layout=standard&show_faces=true&width=250&action=like&colorscheme=light&height=80

This entry was posted in The Working Artist and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

