Winter

Inspired by Winter

Where I live, winter can show a quiet color palette – gray, black, brown, white, clear. The leaves have fallen and except for the evergreens who proudly show their color, the trees who have lost their leaves offer graceful bones up to the sky.

The colors of the winter landscape inspired these jewelry pieces in collaboration with Artbeads Winter Enchantment blogging fun.

Photo courtesy Anna Crissman

To get started, I browsed around the Artbeads site. I knew I wanted the foundation for the jewelry to be some type of gemstone. When I saw these moss opalite teardrop beads, I knew I’d found what I was looking for. I wanted to select a small assortment of other beads that would bring out the colors of the moss opalite. I also wanted to keep the design simple. Winter is a show off, but in a quiet and subtle way. The little snowflake charm – a reminder of winter’s simplicity and complexity.

Jewelry inspired by winter

Even though I used a quiet color palette, I still wanted contrast Ā – shiny and not shiny, opaque and transparent, hard edges and soft. Crystals were perfect for the job. I saw the light brownish crystals and thought they were gorgeous. Their proper name is Graphic Crystal Golden Shadow. I worried that they might be too expensive, but they weren’t and I knew I did not need many. And I was lucky enough to have the giant clear glass nugget in my bead stash – a purchase from a trip to NYC.

Photo courtesy Franco Wendler

I use a lot of darkened silver, but for this piece I wanted to keep the silver bright. Maybe because the other colors were muted and somber. I tried to use the moss opalite in the earrings, but the earrings said no way. So, here they are all cool and icy – silver and crystal, nothing more.

Earrings inspired by winter

All jewelry photos are mine.

Disclaimer: Some of the beads used in this jewelry were provided by Artbeads as part of their beading for bloggers program. The opinions expressed in this blog are my own.

This entry was posted in handcrafted bracelet, Handcrafted Earrings, Handcrafted Necklace, Jewelry Design and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter

  1. Lisa says:

    Just gorgeous and truly a winter pallette.

  2. Cyndi Lavin says:

    Soooo beautiful! Living in New England, I have to say that winter is one of my favorite seasons.

    I’m so glad that you’ve joined us for the bead blogging round-up too šŸ™‚

  3. Lisa Crone says:

    Hi Charlene!! These are GORGEOUS!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

