Kazuri Beads

I bought these Kazuri beads from Antelope Beads and I just love them. The colors are wonderful. And they have a texture that makes you want to keep running your fingers over them again and again. I also love that there’s a story behind them.

Kazuri means “small and beautiful” in Swahili. You can read the full story on Antelope Bead’s website. But in brief Kazuri was started in 1975 to help two women produce a product and earn a living. I fundamentally believe that most people want to earn their own way. The company has grown to the point that it now has 120 employees and is a member of the Fair Trade Act.

The beads are beautiful. I bought them because I loved them and wanted to work with them. I didn’t find out the full story until I looked it up once I returned home. We jewelry designers buy products from every corner of the world. Sometimes we know how they are sources, how the people who make them are paid and treated and sometimes we don’t. Those are longer and deeper conversations for another time. For now, let’s just say I’m glad I bought these and proud I can share their story with you.

This entry was posted in beads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kazuri Beads

  1. I just LOVE this color palette!

Leave a Reply

