Put the Big Rocks in First

I have a tendency to  try and accomplish more than I realistically can at times. It comes partly from just being excited about what I am doing and just wanting to do so many things. Another part is a flow of ideas and inspiration that all wants to be worked on now. And some of it is me being unrealistic in how long things take to do.

In looking at where I am, I realized that at times I might be getting a lot of things done, but not necessarily the things that are most important to me. This thought reminded me of something I’d heard a while ago. Something to the effect of – put the big rocks in first.

The person who said it explained it this way. Think of the things you want/need to do as rocks. Some are big rocks and some are little. Take a glass and fill halfway with little rocks and then fill it the rest of the way with big rocks. Empty it and count the rocks, especially the big ones, the ones that are more important or take more concentration.

Then take the same glass and put all the big rocks you can in first and then add all the little rocks that will fit. The little rocks will find ways to fit in and around the big rocks. You end up getting more big rocks in the glass. And a lot of little rocks fit in too.

I’ve got to look at what I am doing, how I am prioritizing things and make some changes. There are four big rocks that are important to me that have waited too long.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Put the Big Rocks in First

  1. mary ellen says:

    truely a perfect design for this project !!!
    m.e. 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    I am right there with your sentiments, beautifully expressed. Love your bracelet- those unusual rectangular beads are great and Hope is what it is all about. Nice piece.

  3. francy says:

    Such a light and airy bracelet….made me smile.

  4. Raquel says:

    #48 –
    Great bracelet and I’m now following your blog. Have a great blog hopping day!

  5. I really love the silver & bezel you’ve used

  6. vintagesusie says:

    What a lovely bracelet & what a wonderful cause!!! Thanks for sharing your creativity & HOPE!!!
    Hugs,
    Susie

  7. Jenny says:

    Beautifull! The focal part is absolutely wonderful!

Leave a Reply

