Lightness Loveliness

Beadaholique has a new line of some of the prettiest findings ever. And I’ve seen a lot of findings in my day. This gorgeous branch in a soft matte gold finish is one of them. I love that it has multiple connection points to attach beads or other components. This design is very simple. I used head pins with ball ends and lucite flower beads. The ball ends looked prettier inside the flowers than regular head pins. I then wrapped the head pin around the branch 2-3 times to hold it securely, clipped the ends and tucked them in. It was tricky a couple of places because of the proximity of another branch, but I got it done. I think it is just lovely and it’s a quick project too.

My first thought was to use delicate silk ribbons to finish the necklace, but they overwhelmed the branch. I’ll bet that’s the first time silk ribbons overwhelmed anything, but they did. So I used a thin chain and I think it works perfectly.

I decided to make a second necklace using the pink silk ribbons. I used larger lucite flower beads and inserted crystal briolettes inside them to make them look like part of the flower. I then threaded borosilicate glass rondelles and large hole metal beads onto the silk along with the flowers. It took some coaxing and I had to make little threaders out of a folded piece of wire to get the third ribbon through the beads, but I got it done.

This entry was posted in Handcrafted Necklace, Jewelry Design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lightness Loveliness

  1. Lisa Faeth says:

    So beautiful, I cant wait to see what you do next!

Leave a Reply

