My Cheating Ways…

No photo, but this one’s not hard to get the gist of. I am a cheater when it comes to rivets. When I first saw someone do them with a snippet of wire, it just looked hard. I got up the nerve to try, and of course, had plenty of issues. I gave up on it until I heard someone say you could start a rivet with a head pin instead of a plain piece of wire. And that’s what I’ve been doing ever since. Starting a rivet is the hardest part and with head pins, it’s taken care of for you. Finish the second side, turn it over and give the head pin part a few hammer blows to give it that handmade feel, and done. I guess in the grand scheme of things, this is pretty mild as cheating goes. Maybe it’s more of a shortcut.

Well today in class, we were shown how to make rivets from plain wire. And I wasn’t intimidated, I was relaxed and ready to give it a try. And I did. After 3-4 botched ones, I started making some nice rivets. Now I won’t say that I’ve totally changed my ways. But at least whatever I do in the future is because I made the choice and not because I can’t do it.

This entry was posted in metalwork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

