Train Car and Brass Earrings

I saw an old metal toy train car at a yard sale a couple of years ago and bought it. Had no idea what I would do with it, but liked the aged, scuffed look of it. Who knows how many hands it’s passed through prior to that day at the yard sale. It sat around the house for a couple of years. I did at times wonder why I bought it.

But, the metal intrigued me and I finally took my saw and decided to start cutting it. When you acquire items like this, you don’t know what kind of metal you are working with and therefore have no idea what its properties are. I still don’t know what this is, but it wasn’t a nightmare to cut. Always thankful for that!

I cut and drilled two circles and added two darkened brass navette shapes at the bottom. The brass is textured with plain old window screen and then darkened. The two together now make my train car and brass earrings.

This entry was posted in Handcrafted Earrings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Train Car and Brass Earrings

  1. Lisa Faeth says:

    What a clever idea… they turned out awesome!
    Take care,

Leave a Reply

