Etched Snake Earrings

I am loving etching and this is my first attempt at an actual piece of jewelry. In fact, I’m wearing them as I type this. I love the fact that I can etch any image that is very strong black and white. Gray scale does not work as well. It can be any image – my handwriting, drawing, doodles, clip art, something from a rubber stamp. That’s pretty wide open. Besides being very strong black and white, if it’s text, it has to be flipped backwards to etch properly.

I purchased a couple of Dover clip art CD’s with ethnic imagery to use with etching. That’s where the snake images came from. Here they are in their black and white format. I can use the computer to change the size, make multiples, flip the image, etc. An entirely new creative path to walk down.

This entry was posted in Handcrafted Earrings, metalwork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Etched Snake Earrings

  1. Kayla says:

    These are great! I’ve recently discovered the wonderful world of Dover clip art CDs for pattern making to use in my digital designs. How cool that you can use them for etching in your jewelry designs!

  2. Lisa Faeth says:

    I didn’t even read your description on these earrings… they ROCK! Love them! Nice.
    Take care,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

