Kat Cole Metalworks

I mean. Hello. Just plain hello. These are stupid sweet.

Kat Cole was the studio assistant in my class at Penland. She was awesome and helpful in the class. I think it was the first or second day when we were all gathered and talking and I noticed her earrings. They were buildings made from tin. And I asked about them. And asked if she had more.

She did and I was lucky enough to snag a pair for myself. There is so much wrong with our world today. But seeing, feeling something handmade, something thoughtfully made, something made with care and artistry makes up for a lot of the bad. I love my green building earrings.

Cat is intrigued by the idea of the place we call home and how we adapt to where we live. In class, Kat made art depicting two extremes of the spectrum – urban cityscapes dense with dwellings and the opposite – the lone dilapidated water tower, grain silo, or shack in an empty field. Both done with the barest minimum of lines that could depict the subject.

Marty, a classmate, bought the necklace below and was sweet enough to let me photograph it on her.

Here’s Marty wearing the necklace and Kat wearing another pair of seriously awesome building earrings.

Kat, it was a pleasure to spend time with you. And your cities. And villages. And countryside. And fields.

This entry was posted in Art and Artisans and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kat Cole Metalworks

  1. Lisa says:

    This is such a fun post! i love it!
    Take care,
    Lisa

  2. Kat says:

    Thanks so much for such a thoughtful post! I am still missing our great time at Penland, I hope you got as much out of it as I did! -Kat

Leave a Reply

