Gilders Paste on Jewelry

Getting color onto metal is one of those things that many people, including me, want to do. I remember years ago when these metal paint pens hit the market. Everyone was using them with brass stampings. They weren’t cheap and there were problems with them drying out despite that ball thing that rolls around inside. I haven’t seen them in a while and I don’t know if they are still being made.

When I saw Gilder’s Paste on Beadaholique’s website, I was excited. It is a product to use for getting color on metal and other surfaces. I’m not sure how new the product is, it may have been around a while but it’s use in jewelry is new and many of us are enjoying experimenting with it.

I got three tins of it, African Bronze, Iris Blue and Violet. They were all different consistencies. Maybe they were made at different times, who knows. The violet was like lipstick and could easily be picked up with a small paintbrush and applied. The Iris Blue was the hardest, like baker’s chocolate. I added a little bit of paint thinner, swirled it around with my paint brush and it was ready to use. Unlike its paint pen predecessors, Gilders Paste can be resuscitated. The African Bronze was in between the two and I could apply it with a cotton swab.

I wanted to use it to color the crevices in the pieces I had and then buff it down from the high points. It dries pretty quickly and after about five minutes I was able to wipe the excess down. I let the medallion in the necklace above dry longer than that and could not wipe it away with a rag. A quick buff with steel wool took care of it. I think the soft dark blue coloring on the medallion ties the colors in the necklace together better than if I left it as it was.

I have to admit when I saw the Violet I was a little skeptical. It is a lavender color that brings Easter candy to mind. I love Easter candy but it is not known for having a sophisticated color palette. However once I got the lavender on these dragonfly charms, I thought it was lovely. I think the earrings are much better because of the dash of color from the Gilders Paste.

I let the pieces fully cure for 24 hours and then coated them with a gloss sealant. You could choose a matte sealant as well. Here are some of the stampings in their original state. I’m glad I tried it and want more of the colors. There are a lot of ways to get color onto metal and it’s always nice to add another method to your arsenal.

This entry was posted in Product Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gilders Paste on Jewelry

  1. Lisa says:

    Love this too!
    Take care,
    Lisa

  2. Lisa says:

    How permanente would you say it is? Could I sell jewelry with it on brass products and not feel it will rub or wear off on them no matter how ruff they are with the piece?

    • thebeaddreamer says:

      Lisa,

      I let my pieces cure a full 24 hours and then sealed them with a lacquer. The guilder’s paste will not rub off because the lacquer serves as a protective coating. Using a tool, you can scratch it but you could damage a lot of jewelry in that fashion. The people that make it have an FAQ’s page that may help answer some of your questions – http://www.gilderspaste.com/faq.htm.

Leave a Reply

