Long Days of Summer Jewelry Challenge

This is the first jewelry challenge and blog hop I have ever hosted. I’m excited about it and pleased to have some super sweet jewelry designers and bloggers join me. My inspiration was this mermaid image of a woman curled up in a seashell. I think it is just gorgeous. I love the softness of the image and love how her hair flows out. I am learning how to do image transfer and I’m working some of the kinks out. So far, my images have not transferred perfectly. Maybe I need to see the small imperfections as part of the charm of this process.

I made the chain out of steel wire. This is my first time making this particular chain and I am in love with it. It takes time to make the little links but it is worth it. At first I was worried about them being very consistent, but now that I see them all together, I don’t think it matters one bit. I love pairing the rustic steel chain with almond tone crystal pearls and black diamond rhinestone rondells. Opposites do attract.

Here’s a bit of the chain up close.

Please take a few moments and visit the other blogs in this blog hop. If you can, be super sweet too and leave a comment!

1. Andrew Thornton – http://andrew-thornton.blogspot.com/

2. Andrea Trank – http://heavenlanecreations.wordpress.com/

3. Therese – http://www.theresestreasures59.blogspot.com

4. Mary Ellen Parker – http://beetreebyme.blogspot.com/

5. Tara Linda – http://taralinda.wordpress.com/

6. Me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Long Days of Summer Jewelry Challenge

  1. I love the combination of steel with pearls. It’s not something I would have tried, but it does look great together.

    I’ve done image transfer and it’s harder than it looks. I actually like that yours isn’t perfectly transferred–it gives it an antique look.

    • thebeaddreamer says:

      Michelle,

      You are correct – image transfer is not easy. But it’s so darn pretty that I can’t help but keep trying. I know where the issues are that I want to resolve, I just have to take them one by one.

      Thank you for your comments – I’m glad you like the steel and pearls.

  2. Fabulous chain!!!
    I LOVE,LOVE,LOVE this blend of color and texture !!!
    This design is sophisticated classic and cool new edgy combined !!!
    A Summer theme perfect for anytime of year !
    Thank you for hosting this challenge !
    I really had fun with it !!!
    Hope it’s the first of many .
    m.e. 🙂

    • thebeaddreamer says:

      Mary Ellen,

      Thank you so much and maybe I will do another one. I was a little nervous about doing this and wondering if anyone would participate. Kind of like the feeling you have when you throw a party and the first guest hasn’t arrived yet.

      But it’s all worked out pretty well.

  3. tara linda says:

    How Beautiful!
    I love the dreamy quality of both the transfer & dark metal. Amazing chain work. Thank you for hosting this!
    tara

  4. Therese says:

    Charlene, first let me thank you for hosting this wonderful challenge, I wish I would have been a little further out of the box on this one, but my muse left me to my own accord.
    Your necklace is gorgeous I love the pendant, I would have never known that it was not transferred perfectly the imperfections add character and age. The chain is stunning love the links and the pearls with the crystal roundels.
    Therese

    • thebeaddreamer says:

      Therese,

      You are very welcome. It has been nice to meet some people and find blogs that I otherwise may not have know about. I think your necklace is lovely but I have felt the same way at times over challenges I have participated in. I think that’s why they are good for us creative types.

  5. Tamara says:

    What a wonderful pendant and the colours of your necklace is just stunning. You’ve done wonders with the steel for the chain. I hope you do another challenge soon, I’ll have to keep an eye out.

  6. What a lovely, ethereal image! Nicely done! I really like the contrast of materials, the grit of the steel, with the softness of the arabesques and the creaminess of the pearls punched up with a little bit of sparkle.

    Thank you for hosting this challenge and for organizing it! You’re AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

