Book Review and Giveaway

I’m delighted to review Margot Potter’s new book – New Dimensions in Bead and Wire Jewelry. Don’t we all love learning new techniques and exploring new ways to do things? Even more exciting – I’ve got a copy to give to one of you.

Margot explores the use of traditional metal wire combined with beading wire. I have to say I really haven’t seen the two combined like this before. She also explores sculptural techniques and helps guide you in making more dimensional pieces of jewelry. And while the book is very informative, covering different types of wire, different beads, tools, and techniques, Margot also makes it feel fun. She helps guide you into a sense of play when working with wire. Feeling at play can be hugely liberating for those of us who are task and goal oriented. (Like me.)

The book is organized in a very logical manner – starting with Foundations, followed by Thinking in 3D, Sculptural Concepts, Architectural Exploration – and ending with The Fifth Dimension. The projects presented build upon one another with easier ones in earlier chapters and more complex ones later on. Margot throws in lots of tips to help you be successful and to use the project as a springboard to other ideas. I love that there are projects that show how to use those little bits of beading wire left over from other pieces of jewelry. I can’t tell you how many of those I have. I rarely use them but they seem to valuable to toss!

Here’s how to enter the giveaway – multiple entries are OK.

  1. Leave a comment here on this post.
  2. Like me on Facebook and come back and comment that you did.
  3. Follow me on Twitter and come back and comment that you did

A winner will be selected randomly on Friday, 8/19/11 at 7:00 pm eastern. Good Luck!

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Review and Giveaway

  1. Read your post at twitter 8 minutes ago.:)

    I would be thrilled to win this book! I love working with beads and wire… the cover of this book is tempting.

    Thanks for an awesome giveaway!

  2. BTW, I’m alreadya follower of your at Twitter… and I re-tweeted your giveaway.
    Twitter: MoreThanStitch

  3. Liked you in Facebook.:)

  4. Amy says:

    I’d love to win this! Sign me up.

  5. LadyB says:

    I’m in!

Comments are closed.