Subtle Changes

I loved the little gunmetal tone flowered earring findings and had these beads all picked out. I liked the neutral palette and shimmer of the shell beads. But something about the earrings just did not sit right with me. I knew it but couldn’t put my finger on it until I read a post on another blog about working with something shiny. Right away I knew that was the problem. The floral earring findings were shiny. Not in a shimmering, glittery way. But in a suit pressed wrong kind of way – at least for this design.

My solution. Knock a bit of the shine off with a couple of quick wipes with steel wool and add Gilder’s Paste to give dimension and more interest. I think it worked and it took about five minutes. Got any little tips or solutions you’ve discovered? I’d love to hear about them.

This entry was posted in Jewelry Design and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

