Bead Soup Bracelet Style

My bead soup partner Amanda sent me beautiful things to work with, but some of them were not jewelry components I’d used before. They were so pretty that I was happy anyway and figured I’d work something out. I scheduled the day that I would work on my bead soup piece. I wanted plenty of time, no distractions, and space to create.

I started by taking the burgundy square piece and laying it on a piece of white paper. Seeking to just feel it and hear where it wanted to go. It felt luxe and glamorous, like old Hollywood. I remembered I had a piece of velvet ribbon in a closet and thought that might be a nice pairing. When I went to the closet to get the bit of velvet, I saw some ribbon I’d had for a while with an Asian fish motif and thought, I wonder if…

Whenever I have the I wonder if moments, it usually means I’m going to find a way to work this out come hell or high water. Just phrased real nice as I wonder if… I wrangled and wrestled with it a bit – you know that phase where the idea is there but you haven’t actually committed to it yet. And then I committed and thought go for it and whatever happens, it’s just ribbon and beads. And all good.

I gathered up the ribbon and sewed the burgundy piece on to one end. OK. So far, so good. But what next? I had the filigree component. I held it every which way with the ribbon and realized if I folded it in half, it just might work. But what if it broke? I thought plan B – sew it on anyway,use jump rings to hold it together and work it out. Fortunately it didn’t break, it held together, and formed a very nice end for the other side. An actual bracelet was starting to come together.

Once folded, the filigree component had four openings and the beautiful fresh water pearls from Amanda were so large that only three would fit. I used jump rings – one on each end and then two in the middle that came together to reduce the number down to three. Chain, another fresh water pearl, a clasp, and done.

I just loved it and then I realized that I had not used the gorgeous glass bead that my partner Amanda made. So I thought, let’s go for a second bracelet. And, as ornate as the first bracelet is, the second is sparse.

I formed and hammered a bangle bracelet from brass wire and then darkened it. The beautiful handmade glass bead’s colors are accentuated by the darkness of the brass.

You never know what you will get with Bead Soup. I guess that’s the point. I got lovely ingredients and I’m thinking I made excellent soup. Thank you, Amanda.

Here’s what I received!

Please visit all of the other Bead Soup participants blogs. You can find them here – http://lorianderson-beadsoupblogparty.blogspot.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

112 Responses to Bead Soup Bracelet Style

  1. Heather says:

    Love both bracelets, just so lush, that first one. great stuff. 😉

  2. Charlene, I just love the different way you approached the bead soup…the addition of the material is brilliant and the result is wonderful.Great thinking.
    I love the simplicity of your second piece…I would wear that one all day!!
    jenni

  3. Michi says:

    I love the first bracelet – it’s wonderful! Great, the idea to combinate it with ribbon – great work!

  4. coffeeaddict says:

    The first bracelet is so incredible. And I love that you posted on your creative process. It would never have occured to me to fold the filigree component in half.

  5. chris murphy says:

    Two totally different bracelets with total appeal. I love them both.

  6. Jo Tinley says:

    Your two bracelets are so different to each other, and I can’t decide which is my favourite! I love the luxurious look of the first with the rich colours and the filigree, but the simplicity of the second is perfect too. Beautiful work!

  7. Oh those are beautiful components! And I love what you’ve done! Great job!

  8. Jo says:

    Crikey – you have an amazing talent, you know that?! What superb creations! And I feel that they have a ‘history’ to them, like they are timeless and will always be a firm favourite with you. Well done 🙂

  9. Beth says:

    Wow – I love how you found ribbon in your closet and made it work in your bracelet. I also like how you had a back up plan – just sew it 🙂 The bracelet is stunning. I also love the simplicity of the second bracelet! Both turned out gorgeous!

  10. Tracy says:

    What a gorgeous and luxurious bracelet, the components and fabric work magically together! 🙂

  11. Norma Turvey says:

    wow I love what you did with your bead soup! Its so unique!

  12. so much to love here! the texture and feel of the fabric bracelet is warm and inspiring and i can just feel it drape across my wrist. and i Love the simplicity of the bangle. the beads shine so brightly against the industrial feel beautiful!

  13. Jean Yates says:

    how stunning–you took my breath away with your designs!
    You are a brilliant jewelry artist! love what you received and ADORE what you created! xox jean

  14. Alice says:

    Both piece, though very different, are lovely!!! One has loads of wonderful colors and texture, and the other an earthy feel. Outstanding!

  15. Deci Worland says:

    Both are lovely, but the first is ancient and rich. Wonderful.

  16. I adore that cuff! Great job with everything!

  17. Jackie says:

    Very unusual and beautiful I love how you used the filigree component and the simple necklace is very nice too!

  18. Birgitta says:

    You sure did an excellent job there
    I love both pieces – different and gorgeous!

  19. Davinia says:

    What a clever idea that ribbon.
    Just gorgeous!

  20. Ann Sherwood says:

    Love your results. A fantastic pair of contrasting styles.

  21. chris says:

    beautiful creation, well done!

  22. vintagesusie says:

    What a beautiful soup you made my friend, your work is truly stunning!! Thanks for sharing & all I can say is yummmmmy!!!

  23. Charlene says:

    love the bangle bracelet. the colors look great together.

  24. emanda says:

    Beautiful!! very romantic velvet ribbon bracelet and stunningly simple lampwork bead bangle.

    Enjoy the hop,
    Emanda

    http://artemisiastudio.blogspot.com/2011/09/bead-soup-reveal.html

  25. salla says:

    Love what you did with this, both bracelets! wonderful.

  26. Karyn B says:

    The first bracelet is so luxurious. I absolutely love that ribbon. The second is great too. I love the dark metal paired up with the golden glass. Lovely.

  27. CraftyHope says:

    Wow, I would have never seen either of those pieces emerge from the soup you received. That’s exactly what I love about this party. . .watching others’ spring to life in unexpected way. It’s really very inspiring and you’ve done just that (inspire me.) Thank you!

  28. I love it! I especially like the 2nd bracelet, I think I’m going to need to send you some of my beads and have you make me a few 😉 You did an excellent job with the filigree, very unique 🙂 Thanks again for being such a fun partner! 🙂 XO

  29. Kristy Abner says:

    Love what you did with your “soup”! Very clever way to use a Vintaj blank in that bracelet!

  30. Amy S says:

    Wow – when I first viewed this – I couldn’t wait to see the “ingredients” you had to work with. The ingredients were very unique – but nailed this piece – it is spectacular, original, and just all around gorgeous!!!

  31. Tammy Jones says:

    Charlene that is a GORGEOUS bracelet! The ribbon you used was a brilliant choice–it tied the whole thing together so uniquely and I just love it. Thanks for a whole new reason to feed my ribbon fetish ;o) Beautiful work!

  32. Angela says:

    It is indeed excellent bead soup. I love both bracelet but especially the fish ribbon. I work a lot with textiles but have never incorporated them into jewelry…seems I need to look into this further. You have definitely inspired me.

  33. alison says:

    the most creative piece i’ve seen so far….what you’ve done is incredible!

  34. Shay says:

    Well done! I think your addition of the fabric is a great touch!

  35. Jenny says:

    Love your soup bracelets, the simplicity of the second one is wonderful!

  36. Janice says:

    Love the mix you received from Amanda – her Vintaj inked blank and bead are such an earthy, fall color palette – you did a super job with designing with everything – I especially loved the use of ribbon and loved the hand-formed bangle bracelet – it really keeps the spotlight on the depth and sparkle of that beautiful boro beads 🙂

  37. What a beautiful, unusual piece. The first one is my favorite just because it is so unusual and the second is very artsy. I would be proud of both of them. I believe you worked way outside the box!!
    Alice’s Beads and Baubles

  38. maggie says:

    Gorgeous! I never would have thought to mix those components and you did so beautifully!

  39. Christine B says:

    Wow, really clever bracelet! I love the way you used the fabric and the square component. And heavy-gauge wirework is always a favorite of mine…nice job!

  40. Your fabric bracelet…..Simply….. Yum.

  41. Great job! I love that second bracelet!!!!

  42. sparse but just as stunning as the first piece! I Love them both!

  43. Christina says:

    Beautiful piece. Love the fabric you chose to go along with the mix you received. This is something I would definitely wear…

  44. Tamara says:

    stunning simply stunning……love the metal bracelet

  45. Wonderful! You have created a terrific piece of wearable art. I like your use of color and texture. Thank you for sharing your artistic process along the way. Cheers!
    Lori

  46. Sandra says:

    Wow, I do not think I’d ever imagined to see this bead soup used in this particular way. Truly innovative, and very nice result – kudos!

  47. Charlie says:

    I am in love with that square focal. Great work!

  48. christine says:

    Love your bracelets – the first one is a-mazing & the second one is beautiful in its simplicity!

  49. Therese says:

    Charlene, I love, love your bracelets now that is thinking outside of the box on the first bracelet, the ribbon was a perfect choice. The simplicity of the second bracelet is supper it lets the focal bead shine!
    Therese

  50. Lupe Meter says:

    I love how you think outside the box!! This cuff is gorgeous! Awesome job with your bead soup!

  51. Serena Trent says:

    love the idea of the bracelet!

  52. Shaiha says:

    When I do wear bracelets, they are usually just chain but I would so totally wear either of them. That first one looks so comfortable and yet so lush. The second one is striking and something to wear every day.

  53. Kay says:

    They both turned out very nice, albeit very different. I really like what you did with the filigree piece. Really makes the bracelet feel very vintage.

  54. I love both of these, so opposite from each other & still fabulous. great idea to fold the filigree

  55. Beautiful creation, well done!

  56. lara lutrick says:

    Wow, I love what you do with your soup. That top bracelet is stunning and the second one is elegant and simple. Beautiful.

  57. anitra says:

    Both pieces are awesome! I especially love the simplicity of the second one.

  58. pam says:

    so much texture – so original!

  59. Carrie T. says:

    I love that you listened to your components and then formed your design. You ended up with two ends of the spectrum one fancy show piece bracelet and one I could wear every day with jeans. Lovely job.

  60. marcy says:

    Charlene, you made it your own. Love your bracelets. very different and cool.

  61. Lisa Boucher says:

    It’s amazing what we can accomplish with some quiet alone time to ponder and create. What a beautiful wearable piece of art you created with those special ingredients!

  62. WOW!!!
    Two very different bracelets…both AMAZING!!!
    Great Soup !
    m.e. 🙂

  63. Kathy says:

    Really stunning work…just gorgeous!

  64. Kym Hunter says:

    I love the idea of making a bracelet and yours is so beautiful! You really did a great job with your soup ingredients!

    Enjoy your week!

  65. What a gorgeous fabric piece!! I love what you did with it! 🙂

  66. Very creative use with your soup! I love how you incorporated the textile into the design. Beautiful with the embossed metal and filigree.

  67. WOW! I would NEVER have thought of that. I’m gobsmacked. It’s amazing, and you deserve a medal for creativity. WELL DONE!

    I hope you join me next time!

    Love, Lori

  68. heather says:

    I love your bracelet. The ribbon is aspectacular Asian spice to add to the mix. Very creative. I love using fibers in my jewelry too and you really inspired me to take a second look at my ribbon stash. Great job.

  69. Bobbie Rafferty says:

    Both are lovely ways to highlight the bits you were sent, but when I first looked at the second one, I wondered how you would clasp that leather bracelet – then I read closer and saw that it was metal. How cool! The wire wrap on the other side of the clasp completely sold me that it was leather!

  70. Janet says:

    I think what youve done is stunning! Wow aht beauty. I cant say enough how impressed I am with the 2 pcs youve created!! Love both of them!! Wow!!!! Did I say wow?! Yup!!

  71. claire says:

    Inspired use of wonderful components from your partner. Love the fabric bracelet…

  72. I think both pieces are amazing in their differences. That first one though is such a show stopper! Love it!

  73. Andrea says:

    What was so clever about this design to me is that once you finished the design process, it seems like you were able to pull it together rather quickly? Am I right? That is genius. Do you plan out in advance? Or do the designs just emerge? I love all your work? Now I am a subscriber to your blog. Andrea

  74. Andrea says:

    I see you used your new photography techniques. They look great.

  75. Laurel says:

    Yess! I love that “I wonder if…” moment! What a beautiful, special bracelet you created! Actually, both of them are awesome!

  76. Incredibly creative and beautiful!

  77. Deb Bee says:

    Loved your creations!

  78. Janna says:

    Both pieces are beautiful, but the fish bracelet is most excellent! LOVE it!!!

  79. Shannon C says:

    The second is my favorite and you were very creative on the first one!

  80. Cherrie Fick says:

    I love the cuff bracelet. That is a very unique way to design a cuff. Really brings a new look to the altered metal. Thanks for Cherrie

  81. evasherman says:

    I really like both but especially the classic simple elegance of the second piece!

  82. Cory says:

    Hi Charlene…you really went out of the box in a very good way. The bracelets are lovely. Someone wrote that you added some Asian spice, I think that Asian Spice should be the title of the large bracelet. Very nice work.

  83. Terry says:

    So creative-I love what you did with the filigree. Both pieces are beautiful!

  84. Wow…I considered using some ribbon with one of mine, but nothing like this. That just looks gorgeous! And you’re right in that the simple blackened wire looks perfect with that focal on the second bracelet 🙂 Excellent work all around!

  85. Allison says:

    Lovely pieces! Love the simplicity of the 2nd bracelet.

  86. Bryna Lumb says:

    Love both the pieces!

  87. Very lovely pieces you made! Such elegant simplicity- I love them!

  88. snazzy doodle says:

    Wow, really liked how you attached the ribbon to the bracelet. Love the simplicity of the second bracelet

  89. Jenny says:

    You rocked it! The ribbon with the filigree – like it was created for that! And it would be fun bracelet to wear. Wasn’t the challenge invigorating? I thought so!

  90. Beadaholique says:

    Wow! Definitely one of the more unique soups I’ve seen, and so lovely! Excellent job 🙂

  91. Wendy says:

    Both designs are lovely!

  92. Wickedly cool bracelet!!!

  93. patty says:

    Love this !!! I have a thing for Koi to begin with and this is really unique and beautiful – great job!

  94. Holly says:

    Oh such gorgeous bracelets! I don’t know which I like more…lately the spare designs compete so nicely with the more elaborate pieces!

  95. Wow, I just love it! That fabric is fantastic, what a wonderful piece you made!

  96. Beautiful work- I especially love the simplicity of the second bracelet!

  97. You are so clever to fashion a connector from the Vintaj filigree. That’s such a wonderful detail. I really love the feel of this bracelet.

  98. Beautiful! I absolutely love that gorgeous piece of fabric that you have used, really stunning addition.

  99. Oh, I’m so glad you showed what could be done with that filigree! I never would have thought of folding it, and it worked out wonderfully. And the second bracelet is just a show stopper! Love the simplicity of it, helping you to really focus on the beauty of the bead. Thank you so much for sharing your creative process!

  100. That bracelet is absolutely gorgeous, fabulous, and delightful. Great use of your soup, and terrifically creative!

  101. Very bold and stand alone bracelet gorgreous- gorgreous swatch of fabric. find your blog very user unfriendly

  102. I have to say that I like the unfussy bracelet best! What a great design to showcase that special bead. I am forever complicating matters. And thanks for the great lesson on page views. I am not and may never be in the 100 views a day or above, but I don’t play the Etsy games. How cool to make it to the front page! Congrats!
    Enjoy the day!
    Erin

  103. Still blog hopping:>)

    Awesome designs!

    Love the colors!

  104. Ingrid McCue says:

    Wow, what an amazing job! I’m much more comfortable making bracelets but I would have never thought of doing what you did! So original! So cool!

  105. Heidi says:

    That fish bracelet is stunning! I’m glad you decided to see if it could work out. The second one is lovely as well – the bead really does all the talking there, as it should.

  106. Jennifer says:

    What lovely pieces! Well done working out of your comfort zone!

  107. I love the rustic feel of the simple bracelet and the original idea of the second. You would be a winner for original idea if it were up to me.
    Alice’s Beads and Baubles

  108. I loved to read all your creative process. You are right, when you start asking yourself “what if…” you are on the right creative path. The first bracelet is so rich and gorgeous!
    Ambra

  109. Nancy says:

    What a truly unique use of the bead soup. The bracelets are just FABULOUSLY beautiful. Great job.

  110. Beautiful bracelets. I love the addition of your ribbon in the first one-really unique design! I like the contemporary simplicity of the second one. Well done.

  111. Terri G. says:

    Beautifully designed bracelets! I esp. like the one with the fabric! Genius use of the soup mix!!! Just Soup-er!

  112. Maneki says:

    Lovely bracelets! I really like the fish bracelet. Very creative use and mix of materials. And lovely colour. Great job!

Leave a Reply

