Connecting

Wow, this photo came in muy gigante! I have been resizing photos for my blog hoping it helped the page load faster. This time I just tried loading it as it was. Guess ’tis OK. I’m really looking to let go of any and everything that does not HAVE to be done. Tired of being pounded.

It’s the start of a three day weekend. They always feel so promising, at the beginning. So I will hold on to that feeling and not even think about how Monday night I will wonder where it all went while I get ready for the work week. For now, a long weekend stretches ahead.

I spent an obscene amount on buttons when Chris and I went to the MD race. There were no bead stores in the little town we visited, but there was a really nice yarn store. I don’t knit but the colors of the yarns allured me in and then I saw the gorgeous buttons they had and next thing I had a little basket…

I bezel set two into this pair of earrings and made clip earrings out of these. I love that I know how to bezel set after my soldering impairment and some resulting issues that I worked through, but I don’t want to do it for everything. So I got the idea to use four pieces of chain to attach the button the way I did for this bracelet. I think it’s pretty sweet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Connecting

  1. darlene says:

    Love the bracelet! Question for you. How do you come up with your design ideas?? Are you inspired by certain color combinations or shapes/symbols that you see?

  2. Hi Darlene,

    There are a lot of different ways I create jewelry, sometimes it is by color, other times a couple of beads roll together accidentally on the table that I would never have thought to put together and I go hmmmm…..

    For this bracelet, I used a technique suggested by the inspiring Penny of Sparrow Salvage. I took six white plates and set them out. I then put one bead that I wanted to use in a bracelet in each of the plates. In this case it was the lemon quartz bead. I then went to find one other bead or object that would go with the lemon quartz bead. I did this for all six plates. I challenged myself not to go for the usual suspects but to look in my button stash, in a box of broken jewelry and bits and pieces of stuff. And I went through adding to each plate. No right or wrong – when I went to make the bracelet I did not have to use everything. Once I had enough I looked for balance and contrast and added the bead with the darker ends because everything else was light. And that is how this bracelet was born.

    Here’s the link to Penny’s blog – http://sparrowsalvage.blogspot.com/ I’m not sure where that exact post is but there’s enough good stuff that it’s worth reading through it.

    Cheers and I’d love to see what you make!

Leave a Reply

