Rustic Glam

With each piece that I make, I hope that I am branching out, hope I am growing, hope I am improving. I definitely know that when I look back at the work from prior years, I see the growth. From one piece to the next, of course I can’t. But over longer periods of time, I do see it.

I’m still working in a rustic aesthetic and I’m still using circles. Both were strong elements of my work in 2011. We will see if that continues. I’m OK either way.

The inspiration for this necklace came from the green and rust glass oval beads that hang at the bottom of the necklace. I got them and the sexy jet AB crystals from Allegory Gallery in Ligonier, PA. The other stuff is from my stash. I created five dangles, each with similarities and with differences from each other and think that I’ve hung them in a pleasing manner. They hang from a brass bar that I textured, annealed, hammered more, and then darkened. The patina did not come out even, there are brown areas and other areas with a more greenish cast. I thought those colorations worked perfectly with the beads.

The brass bar started life as a really basic brass stamping. One that I would not use in a finished piece today unaltered. I did use them in the past, but as they say – when I knew better, I did better.

For the necklace, I wanted the jet crystals strewn about ever so. Heavily at the bottom and then gradually thinning out. I love the sense of almost movement that the spacing creates.

Allegory Gallery is a new business operated by Andrew Thornton. He sells art, jewelry, and fabulous beads and jewelry supplies. It’s located in Ligonier, PA, I’ve visited there myself and it’s lovely. Here’s the website and if you can, give them a Like on Facebook, they are trying to get some of those free advertising dollars that Facebook has targeted for small businesses. We need to support small businesses. They are what keeps every city from being the same strip of big box stores. So, send him some love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rustic Glam

  1. leelittleco says:

    Hey Charlene I love this necklace the design and choice of materials really work together.

  2. Love it Charlene! The combination of the brass bar and the beads is gorgeous!

  3. Wonderful post, I love how you hung the drops off of the brass bar, the are very pleasing to the eye!

  4. Karen Allen says:

    I’m new to your blog but in this short amount of time I’m LOVING reading your thought process about your creations and especially looking at the photos…please forgive me while I drool. 🙂 THANKS for sharing with us bead freaks.

  5. Thank you all so much. I appreciate your comments.

    Karen, feel free to drool and I enjoy interacting with the bead community. Do you have a blog?

  6. Karen Allen says:

    I do not have a blog but have been seriously considering it.

Leave a Reply

