A Matter of Scale

 

I’ve been making jewelry a long time now and over the years I’ve made pieces that worked and those that did not. Fortunately with beaded jewelry, you can take it apart and rework it. And I’ve taken plenty of stuff apart and have a small basket of pieces that need to be taken apart sitting in the cabinet right now.

Lately, I seem to have moved more into a realm where the entire piece does not need to be taken apart, the piece just needs an adjustment. That’s what happened with this necklace. I love the earthy colors and textures and the luminescence from the boulder opal. Above is the “after” photo. I mean seriously, I had to lead with it.

Below is the “before”. It’s one of those what was I thinking pieces. The scale of the necklace vs the pendant is just plain wrong. And it looked so right at the time. I guess everything we make, whether good or not so good, is part of the path leading us to better work. Can’t just step on the good stones along the path. The eye we develop that allows us to see mistakes is an important part of our development. Those mistakes lead to better work.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

