Gel Form Liver of Sulphur

If you’ve ever wanted to use liver of sulphur to darken metal but felt unsure about it, don’t. The first liver of sulphur I bought was in liquid form and I felt unsure about using it and it sat in the closet for a long time. I did not know that liquid liver of sulphur had a short shelf life and by the time I went to use it, it wasn’t any good.

Then I bought it in solid chunk form. I would drop a chunk or two in a small crock pot with some water and heat it up. In the garage with the door open because it got stinky quick. The liver of sulphur worked great but it would expire in 2-3 days. So, I always waited until I had a decent amount of pieces before making a batch.

I finally used up the solid liver of sulphur and decided to try the new gel form. It is supposed to stay good indefinitely. Here’s where I got it. What I like about it is that I can make very small batches like the one above by mixing a few drops in hot water and do it whenever I want to. The smell is very faint so I can do it in the house. I also love my little dipping basket that holds small pieces like the earring wires.

So, if you are liver of sulphur impaired, go forth, get a bottle and darken some metal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

