40 Days and 40 Nights

Mosaic Bar Pin Necklace

That’s how long it feels like it took me to complete this necklace. The design started with the vintage mosaic pin that I bought at Vanves market. Even though I have been known to cut some stuff up, I wanted to keep the pin intact. Primarily because of the beautiful beading around the edges. Plus, well just because.

It took a while to find a way to do that. I figured out that it fit on a leather link I had from a vintage belt. So far, so good. But the pointy end of the pin looked a little lethal and I never want to cause injury, so I went in search of an end piece to make it safer. Found them here. Then I realized I didn’t have the right eyelets and went on a massive eyelet search. Got them here; had to wait for them to arrive.

Finally, stuffs all in and I’m ready to go. This led to the realization that I did not actually know how to make button links and needed to figure that out. OK, fine, done. I start making links, went to put them together and then realized I didn’t like how I  cut my jump rings. I wanted them to close perfectly flush which ain’t gonna happen when you cut one end flush and the other end with a point. Off to make more jump rings (this time cut flush on both ends) and oh by the way, I needed more wire too.

PicMonkey Collage

Can I get a hallelujah? I got everything I needed, finished the necklace, the pin can be removed and worn separately and nobody is gonna get stabbed. All is right with the world. For now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

