Medal and Rhinestones

Rhinestone Necklace

 

I have been on a rhinestone kick lately. While I have done some sparkly pieces, I tend to like things a little darker. This necklace has a nice dark patina both from the vintage athletic medal and the oxidized piece from a vintage belt buckle. It was missing some rhinestones and I managed to find some the right size that were also dark. Those tiny prongs can be hard to see and work with, but I got the rhinestones set.

I love the little pearls. Most of the nacre has come off and the little beads that were underneath are so sweet. I didn’t have enough of them for the whole necklace, and I’m not sure I would have used them if I did. I thought about whether to use dark brass or dark silver chain and decided on brass to reference back to the medal.

The days are starting to get longer and I am happy about this. Yes, it is still gray February and more snow may be coming, but before too long, there will be little signs that spring is on the way.

Medallion Necklace

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

