Book Review: Simple Soldered Jewelry and Accessories

Soldered Jewelry

I know how to solder using a torch. I do not know how to solder using a soldering iron, or what I call “stained glass” soldering. Both types of soldering have applications they are best suited to. One very good reason to add stained glass soldering to your technique arsenal is that you can use materials that would be incinerated by a torch. Things like paper, fabric, buttons, lace, dried flowers, moss, and so forth.

This book covers cutting glass, using copper foiling and using the soldering iron. It also covers making pendants and charms using the soldering techniques presented. Truthfully, you can find these instructions many other places.

What I like about this book is that it shows how to use this type of soldering in ways I have not seen before.

Take the photo above, for example. Being able to set cabs so they can be used for jewelry is an excellent technique that opens up so many things to one. I have not seen it done before with this type of soldering. I haven’t seen a ring done either.

Soldering and Fabric

There are projects for adorning metal boxes or glass bottles with soldered components and for making picture frames, candle and votive holders. I love the use of textiles like in the photo above. This book really does take this type of soldering further than I have seen done before.

OK, I guess I need to get serious about learning this type of soldering. Kinda like in the Hunger Games, you want every arrow in the quiver that you can get.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: Simple Soldered Jewelry and Accessories

  1. Eileen says:

    I used to do stained glass many years ago. I wondering if the soldering skill is like riding a bike – once you’ve learned …

    I’d love to be able to make beautiful jewelry like this.

    Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

