Photo Backgrounds

Current Linen Phase

Current Linen Phase

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve changed the backgrounds I use for photos in my Etsy shop. There was my initial didn’t have a clue phase, then my romantic phase, followed by a stark white phase, then a stab at very dark backgrounds, and on to a softer off white stage, then back to stark white with a few dark and mid-tone backgrounds here and there.

See below for examples.

Key DSCF0530

Romantic Phase

Stark White Phase

Stark White Phase

Dark Phase

Dark Phase

One of the reasons white has been my go-to background so often is that it is easy to do. I can get a large pack of white scrapbooking paper from Michaels and replace sheets as they get dirty or creased.

As opposed to searching all of creation for the gorgeous wood, old books and other backgrounds I see people use – things that are just old world gorgeous. Do I need to tell you how hard I have searched? How many yard sales, thrift stores, craft stores, home décor stores, my own garage and closets. Never really hitting what I think is the right mark.

I’m in the process of making another change, this time to linen textures with some wood backgrounds. No, I don’t have the perfect pieces of linen and yes, I have searched for them too. What I do have are print outs of linen digital papers. They are economical, relatively easy to find and I can print them out as needed.

Will I continue to look for the perfect backdrops? You know the ones in all of those gorgeous photos on Pinterest. Probably, but I hope that these work just fine in the meantime.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photo Backgrounds

  1. The linen and old books look lovely, perfect textures without being distracting. I had no idea old book were so hard to come by, Charlene,

Leave a Reply

