Jewelry Photo Backgrounds

green tassel earrings, tribal post earrings

Green tassel earrings with handmade ceramic beads and tribal posts

If you have been reading my blog for any length of time, you know I have never felt I got the backgrounds for my jewelry photos exactly correct. I see all of these beautifully done photos streaming by on Pinterest and I wonder, where do they get the items they use as backgrounds. I have tried many things over the years. Close, but no cigar.

In the meantime, I have been lusting over the backgrounds that Anthropologie uses. I think they are gorgeous and serve as the perfect backdrop; adding texture and dimension, but not taking away from the jewelry. Where did they get them? I google searched and searched. All to no avail…

The photo above uses backgrounds that are my latest attempt. I bought several cheap art canvases from the craft store Рdifferent sizes and thicknesses. I also bought craft paint in neutral colors Рgrays, tans, off whites.  All matte finish; no shiny or glossy paints.

paint for jewelry backgrounds

I dabbed the paint on with the sponges you see here. I figured worst case, I could paint them over and over until I got something I liked. Sure, they don’t look like Anthro’s, but I think they look pretty good and they have worked very well for me.

And the earrings. Let’s not forget them. They feature handmade ceramic beads made by the wonderful Midnightcoiler, along with tassels and bumpy earring posts from my supply shop.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

