Big Cuff Bracelet and Beady Links

I am loving this big cuff bracelet. I never would have even considered something like this before; just wouldn’t have known how to approach it. Truth is, it took me a while to figure it out, even now.

The design started with the white beach glass at the center. I’d been itching to use the mint green glass beads for a while so I laid them around the edges. It was starting to turn into something. I took an index card and attached the design with double sided tape and set it aside. I didn’t have a cuff bracelet blank large enough and had to order some. I get them from Metalliferous, fabulous folks, I got to go in person when I went to NYC Nov 2010.

I made a tab setting out of brass the shape of the beach glass. I made slits in brown stiffened felt and pushed the tabs through the felt to hold the beach glass securely. Then I sewed the mint green glass beads on with Nymo. I sandwiched a piece of 26 gauge copper sheet between two layers of the brown stiffened felt and then used bolts to attach it to the cuff. I darkened the entire thing and viola. It makes me happy to figure stuff like this out.

Want more beady goodness? Check out these links:

A Bead A Day
Interested in using plastic to create special Valentine’s Day Jewelry? Here are a couple of pieces for inspiration.

About.com Jewelry Making
What is better than some beaded embroidery how-to for a buck? Errr..nothing!

Art Bead Scene
Heather offers a beautiful free project inspired from high in the treetops!

Beading Arts
Cyndi has been trying to encourage everyone to get out there and take a class this year!

Beads & Books
See the 30+ beautiful winter jewelry designs in the Secret Snowflake Challenge. Participants used techniques such as bead embroidery, resin, stringing, wirework, etching, and more!

Carmi’s Art/Life World
Carmi has a link to a kumihimo give-a-way to share!

Earthenwood Studio Chronicles
Melanie looks back at an older post where a favorite song inspired a series of wing themed pendants.

Snap out of it, Jean! There’s beading to be done!
Valentine’s Day is one of the most delightful days on Jean’s calendar! Why? Because she gets to think about love, and jewelry such as the astounding pendants at NanoStyle! Tell your beloved “I love you” in a most incredible way!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Big Cuff Bracelet and Beady Links

  1. Chris says:

    At first I thought you had drilled the glass, the tabbs seem to go all the way through. Nice work.

  2. Kathi Jablonski says:

    Love the happy cuff.

Leave a comment